Hope, Love, Peace

Hope, Love, Peace

IMG_9043

These are the things I usually wish for my family and my friends for the New Year. Then I get to wonder which of these is the greatest. When I was young, Hope was by far the greatest. Hope for the future, hope for success, hope for health, and for happiness. I hoped I got a good job. I hoped I kept my job and that I did a good job! I hoped I would meet someone and fall in love. I hoped that I would have kids and I hoped they would be healthy. There was always an abundance of hope all around me.

As I matured and developed a responsible view of life, I decided that love was the greatest. Love for my husband and love for my kids. I cultivated deep feelings of love for all of my family members, my parents, my siblings and their partners, and love for my home and my home town. As great love grew into all aspects of my life, hope grew also.

Then life happened with its challenges and struggles. There were triumphs and sacrifices. My kids grew up and made lives of their own. We all moved around and changed who we were, what we wanted, and what we were not going to accept. Lots and lots of changes happened. Life became a ship tossing this way and that over the ocean in a storm.

All of a sudden; stillness surrounds me now and I basque in its peace. Now I see that Peace has somehow become the greater! This year I wish all my family and friends, in particular order Peace, Hope and Love